Nai Harvest – Sick On My Heart review

Ahead of the release of their debut album Hairball, Nai Harvest have dropped their new single, Sick On My Heart. Premiered last night with Noisey, the genre hopping duo have taken their sound in a new direction, to the realms of energetic and hazy garage punk, and at under three minutes, there’s a lot crammed into it. The duo split themselves into Ben Thompson (guitar and vocals) and Lew Currie (drums), and as with all their work, the noticeable lack of bass helps keep the track light and frantic, and still leaving you questioning how the hell only two people can make so much noise.

With artwork as eclectic as the music it supports, despite releasing their work via Topshelf Record, Nai Harvest still stay true to their DIY roots. They’ve a certain vibrancy and madness that’s usually lost come a signing, and to see it crammed in this track is distinctly refreshing. Fuzzed up, slightly whiney vocals meet cymbal heavy backing to sound like a firework show would look if everything was set off at once. Psychedelic and trippy, this is a promising release ahead of their debut LP. Exciting times await the pair.

Hairball is due out on April 28th, after a 9-date tour beginning on on April 16th, details of which can be found below, along with Sick On My Heart.

April Tour Dates w/Best Friends:
16 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
17 London, Birthdays
18 Brighton, Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar
19 Nottingham, Bodega Social Club
20 Birmingham, The Oobleck
21 Glasgow, Broadcast
22 Manchester, Soup Kitchen
23 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
​24 Sheffield, The Harley

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed